FAQ | Print Page | Sign In | Register
News & Press: Conference

Recipients of the 2019 ISDS Awards for Outstanding Student or Post-Degree Abstract Announced!

Friday, November 30, 2018   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Cat Tong
Share |

We are delighted to announce the recipients of the 2019 ISDS Awards for Outstanding Student or Post-Degree Abstract. ISDS formed this award to support budding researchers and promote their innovation and contributions to health surveillance. This year, ten applicants out of seventeen student researchers from five countries were selected for recognition for our prestigious annual award. Please find all our award recipients below:


First Prize

  • Mallory NoblesMultidimensional Semantic Scan for Pre-Syndromic Disease Surveillance
  • Yasmine BaghdadiPerformance of machine learning method to classify free-text medical causes of death 


Honorable Mention

  • Andrew PattonDevelopment of Text-Based Algorithm for Opioid Overdose Identification in EMS Data
  • Michelle CarrHurricane Harvey AAR: Preparedness Recommendations Based on Surveillance Data
  • Dylan DeLisleIdentifying Emergency Department Care in the Year Prior to Suicide Death
  • Kelly WalblayUsing Syndromic Surveillance to Quantify ED Visits for Coagulopathy Cases
  • Kristyna RysavaCost-effectiveness analysis of One Health surveillance strategies for rabies control
  • Roberto SouzaIdentifying High-Risk Areas for Dengue Infection Using Mobility Patterns on Twitter
  • Jonathan FixOptimization of Linkage between North Carolina EMS and ED Data: EMS Naloxone Cases 
  • Haylea HannahField-based Evaluation of Malaria Outbreak Detection & Response, Mudzi and Goromonzi 


We congratulate all awardees and applicants for their submissions! You can support these student researchers by attending their presentations at the 2019 ISDS Conference in San Diego, CA. We also invite you to attend the Award Ceremony on Thursday, January 31 at 8 am where we will recognize our student awardees.


To learn more about the award and its prizes, please visit the student award page here.


ISDS would like to thank the Award Sub-Committee for their time and dedication to reviewing the student applications: Eric Lau (Chair), Marion Tseng, Sushil Mohanty, Gerardo Nava, Taiwo Otitolaye, Mohammad Mushtuq Husain, Tripurari Kumar, Muhammad Asaduzzaman, Swapnil Gadhave, Mudassar Iqbal Arain, Maureen Anyanwu and Mika Shigematsu.

Contact Us


288 Grove St, Box 203
Braintree, MA 02184
(617) 779 - 0880
Email: syndromic@syndromic.org


Subscribe to ISDS News