FAQ | Print Page | Sign In | Register
Program Committee
Share |

Every year, a group of dedicated professionals volunteer to develop the agenda and content of the conference. The 2019 ISDS Scientific Program Committee, which includes distinct Workshop and One Health Symposium committees are diverse groups of individuals working in various sectors and disciplines.

ISDS thanks our committee members who volunteer their time and talent to the success of our annual conference.

Annual Conference Scientific Committee

Peter Hicks, MA, MPH, Chair

Peter Hicks, MA, MPH is an Epidemiologist and Informatician at the Centers of Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

Mr. Hicks has been working in biosurveillance for over 20 years, beginning his career at the New Mexico Department of Health and the University of New Mexico as a systems engineer working on the Department of Defense’s ENCOMPASS project, which was one of the first national electronic surveillance systems to leverage Electronic Medical Record data to monitor population health and adverse events of public health significance.

Peter has been with CDC for 14 years and was the surveillance coordinator for CDC during the 2009/2010 H1N1 Influenza Response as well as the agency’s response to the 2010 Deepwater Horizon Oil spill. From 2014-2016, he was the co-Chair of the CDC ICD-9/10 Transition Workgroup. He has been the co-Chair of the Informatics Track for the International Society for Disease Surveillance (ISDS) Annual Conference (2014-2018) and active member within the society. He is one of CDC’s representatives to HL7 and the agency’s lead for the “Implementation and Messaging Guide for Syndromic Surveillance”.

Eric Bakota, Workshop Chair

Eric Bakota is a Public Health Analyst with Harris County (TX) Public Health. He attended the University of Houston, where he earned his BA in English and MS in Biology. His entire career has been as a civil servant in local public health as a sanitarian, epidemiologist, informatician and now an analyst. He spent three years with the Houston Health Department before joining Harris County Public Health. He is a former SHINE fellow as part of the I-TIPP program and he helped author the3rd Annual Epidemiology-in-Review for Houston. He currently leads the ISDS R Group for Biosurveillance.

Follow him on Twitter @ericbakota



Committee members

Blaise Burke

Howard Burkom











Jina Joan Dcruz

Alina Despande










Brian Dixon

Permicia Dixon

Permecia Dixon began working at CDC in 2016, covering a broad spectrum of topics ranging from policy, program evaluation, communication, budget and legislative management. Permecia leads policy and issues management, SharePoint management and other operational activities to strengthen policy collaboration. A native of Atlanta, GA, Permecia earned her MPH from New York Medical College with a focus in Health Policy and Management.  Prior to joining CDC, Permecia spent two years as a Quality Improvement Specialist at Northside Hospital. In this position, Permecia developed and evaluated data sources based on potential risk management factors, and departmental metrics with the hospital Quality Improvement, Risk Management and accreditation initiatives for problem identification, problem tracking, and problem resolution.

Anne Fouillet

Nick Generous











Amy Ising











Jeff Johnson

Jeff Johnson is a Senior Epidemiologist with San Diego County, Health and Human Service’s Agency. He is directs a team of staff responsible for public health surveillance and biosurveillance projects including: oversight of the communicable disease surveillance registry, electronic lab reporting, syndromic surveillance, response to public health events and strategic planning. He currently helps coordinate and integrate surveillance activities between local, state and federal agencies and is a member of several local, state and federal surveillance committees and workgroups.



Eric Lau











Wayne Loschen, ISDS President











Lourdes Martinez

Donald Olson

Ian Painter

Marc Palidini

Julie Pavlin

Anikah Salim

Vivek Singh

Dave Swenson

Bill Thompson

Candice Welhausen

Contact Us


288 Grove St, Box 203
Braintree, MA 02184
(617) 779 - 0880
Email: syndromic@syndromic.org


Subscribe to ISDS News